20 Questions: Arrested for DWI in Texas. What is the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas?
20 Questions: Arrested for DWI in Texas is the first book in the 20 Questions series by Peter M. Lopez. It is currently available to read in ebook form below and for download as a pdf. A paperback version is scheduled to be released this summer.
Each question answered in 20 Questions: Arrested for DWI in Texas is also answered individually for your convenience here on our website if you are searching for answers to specific questions.
As you read, you may discover you have other questions. If so, links to the answers to the other nineteen questions in the book are provided below.
This is the 20th question answered in the book.
20. What is the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas?
DWI is driving while intoxicated, and DUI is driving under the influence. In Texas, the DWI offenses cover all alcohol, drugs, and other intoxicating substances, and DUI only applies to minors, who are not permitted to have any detectable amount of alcohol. The term “minor,” for DUI purposes, refers to anyone under the legal drinking of 21. If a minor is arrested with any detectable amount of alcohol in his or her blood, the offense charged will likely be DUI. A first DUI for a minor is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500. Additionally, community service hours (20 to 60 depending on circumstances) relating to education about or prevention of misuse of alcohol will be ordered.
If the minor is seventeen years of age or older and has been convicted twice before, the range of punishment is a fine of $500 to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, or both.
If you have other questions about a DWI arrest in Texas, here are the answers to the other nineteen:
- 1. What will happen if I am convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas?
- 2. What does “intoxicated” mean in Texas?
- 3. What if this is not my first DWI?
- 4. Can the police officer take my license?
- 5. Will my driver license be suspended?
- 6. Can I get my driver license back?
- 7. How long will my license be suspended?
- 8. How can my license be suspended for refusal when I asked for a blood test?
- 9. How do I get an occupational license?
- 10. When can I get an occupational license?
- 11. Can I get deferred adjudication to keep a DWI off my record?
- 12. Will my employer find out I got a DWI?
- 13. Can I get the DWI off my record?
- 14. Will I have to appear in Court?
- 15. What if I have to work on the day of my court hearing?
- 16. What if I missed my first court hearing?
- 17. If I wasn’t read my rights, will my case get dismissed?
- 18. I do not live in Texas, so will my license still be suspended?
- 19. I got a DWI in another state, so will my Texas license be suspended?
- 20. What is the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas?